Discoveries

The site of the Roman Museum

The foundations of the basilica, discovered in 1974, have since 1979 housed the Roman Museum which preserves and showcases the Roman remains of Nyon and its district.
more

The basilica

The basilica closes off the public part of the forum, the town’s monumental centre, on the side facing the lake. It was built between 50 and 80 AD to replace an older building; the basilica was a public building, at one and the same time a town hall, a court and the headquarters for offices.
more

The Forum- Area publica

The status of the Colonia Iulia Equestris required that it should have installations in keeping with the standards of the Roman metropolis, in order to ensure the political, judicial, economic and religious administration of the town and its territory.
more

Rue de la Porcelaine

The excavations carried out between 1996 and 1999 below the Rue de la Porcelaine resulted in large quantities of remains which have extended our knowledge of a hitherto unknown sector of the Roman town, which has proved to have been occupied continually from the beginning of the 1st century to the middle of the 2nd century AD at least.
more

The amphitheatre

The amphitheatre was built below the road leading to the vicus of Lousonna/Vidy. It measures 50 m end to end where the ellipse is at its longest and 36 m across.
more

La Duche

Archaeological excavation during the construction of Nyon’s new underground car park La Duche has revealed features of an as yet unexplored sector of the Roman town, situated on the lakeside and very probably linked to its port activities.
more

Water supply

The supply of water is indispensable for life in all civilisations. Within a town demand for water is very considerable, and public baths, fountains, workshops and private houses have all to be supplied.
more

The Forum- Area sacra

The status of the Colonia Iulia Equestris required that it should have installations in keeping with the standards of the Roman metropolis, in order to ensure the political, judicial, economic and religious administration of the town and its territory.
more

The market

The remains of a food market, built around 50 AD, have been found in today’s Place du Marché.
more

The public baths

The public baths (or thermae), very close to the forum, can very likely be dated to the beginning of our era.
more

Housing

A considerable network of private houses existed round the forum, partially revealed by excavations in Place Bel-Air (1978-1982), Rue de la Gare and Rue du Collège (1992-1994).
more

Entdeckungen

Entdecken Sie die Überreste des archäologischen Fundorts, indem Sie auf die roten Kreise klicken.

Der Standort des römischen Museums

Die Fundamente der Basilika wurden 1974 entdeckt und beherbergen seit 1979 das römische Museum. Hier werden die römischen Fundstücke Nyons und seiner Umgebung konserviert und ausgestellt.
mehr

Die Basilika

Die Basilika schloss den öffentlichen Teil des Forums, also des monumentalen Zentrums der Stadt, zum See hin ab. Sie wurde zwischen 50 und 80 n. Chr. an der Stelle eines älteren Gebäudes gebaut. Es handelt sich um ein öffentliches Gebäude, welches gleichzeitig als Rathaus, Tribunal und Verwaltungsgebäude diente.
mehr

Das Forum- Area publica

Die Colonia Iulia Equestris war durch ihren Status als Kolonie dazu verpflichtet, ihre Institutionen den Standards der römischen Metropole anzupassen. Somit konnte die administrative, politische, rechtliche, wirtschaftliche und religiöse Verwaltung der Stadt und ihres Territoriums sichergestellt werden.
mehr

Rue de la Porcelaine

Von 1996 bis 1999 wurde unterhalb der Rue de la Porcelaine ausgegraben. Dabei kamen viele Objekte ans Licht, die uns Erkenntnisse über einen bis dahin unbekannten Sektor der römischen Stadt ermöglichten. Dieser war anscheinend vom Anfang des 1. Jhd. bis zur Hälfte des 2. Jhd. n. Chr. dauerhaft besetzt.
mehr

Das Amphitheater

Das Amphitheater von Nyon befindet sich unterhalb der Strasse, die früher zum Vicus Lousonna/Vidy führte. Die Arena mass 50 Meter in der Länge und 36 Meter in der Breite.
mehr

La Duche

Als in Nyon das Parkhaus La Duche errichtet werden sollte, wurden archäologische Ausgrabungen von Archeodunum S.A. ausgeführt, die einen Teil des bis dahin unbekannten Quartiers der römischen Stadt unten am See freigelegt haben.
mehr

Die Wasserversorgung

In allen Zivilisationen ist die Wasserversorgung unabdinglich für das Leben. Der Bedarf einer Stadt ist sehr gross. Thermen, Brunnen, Handwerksgebäude und Privatunterkünfte brauchen allesamt einen einfachen Zugang zu Wasser.
mehr

Das Forum- Area sacra

Die Colonia Iulia Equestris war durch ihren Status als Kolonie dazu verpflichtet, ihre Institutionen den Standards der römischen Metropole anzupassen. Somit konnte die administrative, politische, rechtliche, wirtschaftliche und religiöse Verwaltung der Stadt und ihres Territoriums sichergestellt werden.
mehr

Der Markt

Unter dem aktuellen Marktplatz wurden die Überreste eines Nahrungsmittelmarktes gefunden, der gegen 50 n. Chr. gebaut wurde.
mehr

Die öffentlichen Bäder

Die öffentlichen Bäder (oder Thermen) waren nahe am Forum und wurden vermutlich am Anfang unserer Zeit gebaut.
mehr

Wohnhäuser

Um das Forum herum breitete sich ein wichtiges Netzwerk aus privaten Wohnhäusern aus, welches die Ausgrabungen an der Place Bel-Air (1978-1982), an der Rue de la Gare und an der Rue du Collège (1992-1994) teilweise ans Licht geholt haben.
mehr