Presentation of the colony

The Colonia Iulia Equestris

Around 45 BC, a little after the conquest of Gaul, the Romans founded the Colonia Iulia Equestris on the shored of Lake Geneva. If we are to believe the sources (ancient and medieval), it covered the right bank of the Rhone, between the region of Gex, the Jura Mountains and the Aubonne river in Switzerland.

The Colonia Iulia Equestris, apparently a military style colony, was intended for the veterans of Caesar's army, probably mounted troops (hence Equestris). It seems slightly older than the two nearby colonies of Lyon (Copia Felix Munatia Lugdunensis) and Augst (Colonia Raurica) near Basel, also founded just after the Gallic Wars. The urban centre of the territory, Noviodunum, was built exactly where the town of Nyon stands today.

What is a Roman colony?

Originally, a colony was comprised of a territory, its land distributed among the new settlers, with an urban centre centralising the political and administrative structures. Some cities were given colony status as an honorary gesture.

When a colony was founded, the territory selected was demarcated and divided into plots in the form of a grid in a ceremony which played a fundamental role in its foundation. This division was known as "cadastration" or "centuriation". The Roman State then conferred a specific political status on the colony modelled on the institutions of the city of Rome.

Nyon seems to have belonged to the category of colonies founded on unoccupied territories, or land taken from the enemy with a view to settlement or the consolidation of Rome's presence.

A long history and urban excavations

From the 19th  century on various personalities in Nyon were fascinated by the town's prestigious Roman past. Already in 1860 a local history museum had been founded. In the 1930's, Edgar Pelichet, curator of the Museum and cantonal archaeologist, undertook numerous studies and on-site research. Knowledge of Roman Nyon progressed rapidly up to the spectacular discovery in the forum in 1974 of the foundations of the basilica.

Archaeological excavations in Nyon are the responsibility of the Vaud Office of Cantonal Archaeology and since 1988 have mainly been conducted by Archeodunum SA, the company commissioned by the Office. Urban excavations require the support of the local political authorities and of the population, who are often curious to discover what traces of their past exist within the town itself.

Archaeological research is regularly carried out in situ in the course of construction or engineering projects. It has been possible to preserve the basilica, which has housed the Roman Museum since 1979, and the amphitheatre, discovered in 1996. Most of the Roman remains, however, are recorded and then reburied. Signs on the paving stones indicate the most important discoveries.

The Roman villa of Commugny, known mainly from the remains of mural paintings of exceptional artistic value discovered early in the 20th century, belonged to the territory of the colony.



The Roman Museum on facebook

The Roman Museum on facebook more

The Roman Museum of Nyon is finally on facebook, through the "association des Amis des Musées de Nyon (AMN)" page! Follow the AMN page and be informed of the news and activities of the Museum.

Roman days in Nyon

Roman days in Nyon more

Every two years, The Roman day of Nyon shares archaeological research with the public, in a lively and accessible way.

Reserve your visit

Reserve your visit more

Reservation form for your visit

Archaeological site

Archaeological site more

Discover Nyon's archaeological site and its finds!

Support the Roman Museum!

Support the Roman Museum! more

Would you like to support the Roman Museum?

Then join the AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) or make a donation to the Roman Museum!

Vorstellung der Kolonie

Die Colonia Iulia Equestris

Gegen 45 v. Chr., kurz nach der Eroberung Galliens, wurde die Colonia Iulia Equestris von den Römern am Ufer des Genfer Sees gegründet. Glaubt man den (antiken und mittelalterlichen) Quellen, so erstreckte sie sich am rechten Ufer der Rhône, zwischen den Ländereien von Gex, dem Jura und der Schweizer Seite des Flusses Aubonne.

Die Colonia Iulia Equestris war offenbar eine Militärkolonie. Sie wurde gegründet, um die Veteranen der Armee Cäsars - vermutlich Reiter (Equestris) - aufzunehmen. Sie scheint ein wenig älter als die zwei Nachbarkolonien Lyon (Copia Felix Munatia Lugdunensis) und Augst (Colonia Raurica, bei Basel) zu sein, die ebenfalls kurz nach dem gallischen Krieg entstanden.

Das urbane Zentrum dieses Territoriums, Noviodunum, befand sich am gleichen Ort wie das heutige Nyon.

Was ist eine römische Kolonie?

Eine Kolonie umfasste ursprünglich ein Gebiet, dessen Boden an neue Siedler verteilt wurde, und ein urbanes Zentrum, das die politischen und administrativen Strukturen zentralisierte. Es kam ebenfalls vor, dass bestimmte Städte den Status der Kolonie als Ehrentitel erhielten.

Wenn eine Kolonie gegründet wurde, wurde zunächst das gewählte Gebiet begrenzt. In einer Zeremonie, die eine zentrale Rolle bei der Gründung spielte, wurde es in Parzellen aufgeteilt. Diese Aufteilung nannte man „Katastration“ oder „Zenturiation“. Daraufhin erhielt die Kolonie einen bseonderen politischen Status. Ihre Institutionen wurden gänzlich nach dem Beispiel Roms eingesetzt.

Nyon scheint zu einer Kategorie von Kolonien zu gehören, die in unbesetzten oder von einem Feind konfiszierten Gebieten gegründet wurden, um die römische Präsenz zu etablieren und zu stärken.

Eine lange Geschichte urbaner Ausgrabungen

Seit dem 19. Jhd. haben sich Persönlichkeiten aus Nyon für die prestigeträchtige römische Vergangenheit der Stadt begeistert. Bereits 1860 wurde ein Museum der einheimischen Geschichte gegründet. Ab den 1930er Jahren vertiefte Edgar Pelichet, Konservator des Museums und Kantonsarchäologe, die Untersuchungen und Feldforschungen. Die Erkenntnisse über das römische Nyon schritten deutlich voran, bis 1974 die spektakuläre Entdeckung der Fundamente der Forumsbasilika gemacht wurde.

Die archäologischen Ausgrabungen in der Stadt Nyon werden unter der Verantwortung des kantonalen Amts für Archäologie des Kantons Waadt durchgeführt,  seit 1988 vor allem durch die bevollmächtigte Firma Archeodunum S.A. Ausgrabungen im Stadtgebiet erfordern die Zustimmung der lokalen politischen Kräfte sowie die Unterstützung der Bevölkerung, die oft neugierig ist, die Spuren der Vergangenheit innerhalb der eigenen Stadt zu erkunden.

Regelmässig werden archäologische Forschungen als Teil von Immobilien- und Bauingenieursprojekten auf der Ausgrabungsstätte durchgeführt. Die Forumsbasilika, die seit 1979 das römische Museum beherbergt, sowie das 1996 entdeckte Amphitheater konnten erhalten werden. Die meisten ausgegrabenen Überreste werden jedoch nur erfasst und wieder vergraben. Unterschiedliche Plattenbeläge auf den Strassen markieren die wichtigsten Funde. 

Auch die römische Villa von Commugny gehörte zum Territorium der Kolonie. Heute ist sie in erster Linie für ihre Wandmalereien bekannt, die anfangs des 20. Jhd. entdeckt wurden und von aussergewöhnlicher künstlerischer Qualität sind.

 



WARNING! New telephone number

WARNING! New telephone number mehr

The Museum's phone number has changed, please be sure tu use the new number, thank you!

+41 22 316 42 80

Roman days in Nyon

Roman days in Nyon mehr

Every two years, The Roman day of Nyon shares archaeological research with the public, in a lively and accessible way.

Reservierung des Besuchs

Reservierung des Besuchs mehr

Anmeldeformular für Ihren Besuch

Archäologischer Fundort

Archäologischer Fundort mehr

Entdecken Sie den Fundort Nyon und seine Fundstücke!

Unterstützen Sie das römische Museum!

Unterstützen Sie das römische Museum! mehr

Wollen Sie das römische Museum unterstützen?

Treten Sie der AMN (Association des Amis des Musées de Nyon) bei oder spenden Sie für das römische Museum!