Discoveries

The site of the Roman Museum

The foundations of the basilica, discovered in 1974, have since 1979 housed the Roman Museum which preserves and showcases the Roman remains of Nyon and its district.
more

The basilica

The basilica closes off the public part of the forum, the town’s monumental centre, on the side facing the lake. It was built between 50 and 80 AD to replace an older building; the basilica was a public building, at one and the same time a town hall, a court and the headquarters for offices.
more

The Forum- Area publica

The status of the Colonia Iulia Equestris required that it should have installations in keeping with the standards of the Roman metropolis, in order to ensure the political, judicial, economic and religious administration of the town and its territory.
more

Rue de la Porcelaine

The excavations carried out between 1996 and 1999 below the Rue de la Porcelaine resulted in large quantities of remains which have extended our knowledge of a hitherto unknown sector of the Roman town, which has proved to have been occupied continually from the beginning of the 1st century to the middle of the 2nd century AD at least.
more

The amphitheatre

The amphitheatre was built below the road leading to the vicus of Lousonna/Vidy. It measures 50 m end to end where the ellipse is at its longest and 36 m across.
more

La Duche

Archaeological excavation during the construction of Nyon’s new underground car park La Duche has revealed features of an as yet unexplored sector of the Roman town, situated on the lakeside and very probably linked to its port activities.
more

Water supply

The supply of water is indispensable for life in all civilisations. Within a town demand for water is very considerable, and public baths, fountains, workshops and private houses have all to be supplied.
more

The Forum- Area sacra

The status of the Colonia Iulia Equestris required that it should have installations in keeping with the standards of the Roman metropolis, in order to ensure the political, judicial, economic and religious administration of the town and its territory.
more

The market

The remains of a food market, built around 50 AD, have been found in today’s Place du Marché.
more

The public baths

The public baths (or thermae), very close to the forum, can very likely be dated to the beginning of our era.
more

Housing

A considerable network of private houses existed round the forum, partially revealed by excavations in Place Bel-Air (1978-1982), Rue de la Gare and Rue du Collège (1992-1994).
more

Découvertes

Découvrez les différents vestiges du site archéologique.

Emplacement du Musée romain

Découvertes en 1974, les fondations de la basilique abritent depuis 1979 le Musée romain qui conserve et met en valeur les vestiges romains de Nyon et de son district.
en savoir plus

La Basilique

La basilique fermait côté lac la partie publique du forum, le centre monumental de la cité. Construite entre 50 et 80 apr. J.-C., en remplacement d'un édifice plus ancien, la basilique était un bâtiment public qui tenait lieu à la fois d'hôtel de ville, de tribunal et de siège de bureaux officiels.
en savoir plus

Le forum- L'aire publique

Le statut de la Colonia Iulia Equestris lui imposait de disposer d'installations conformes aux standards de la métropole romaine, afin d'assurer la gestion administrative, politique, judiciaire, économique et religieuse de la ville et de son territoire.
en savoir plus

Rue de la Porcelaine

Les fouilles, menées de 1996 à 1999 en contrebas de la rue de la Porcelaine, ont livré de nombreux vestiges qui permettent d’élargir les connaissances d’un secteur de la ville romaine jusque-là inconnu, et qui s’avère avoir été occupé de manière constante dès le début du Ier siècle jusqu’au milieu de 2e apr. J.-C. au moins.
en savoir plus

L'amphithéâtre

L'amphithéâtre de Nyon est construit en contrebas de la route menant au vicus de Lousonna/Vidy. Les dimensions de l'arène sont de 50 m dans son grand axe et de 36 m dans son petit axe.
en savoir plus

La Duche

Les recherches archéologiques effectuées à l’occasion de la réalisation du parking souterrain de la Duche, à Nyon, ont permis de dégager des éléments d’un quartier encore inconnu de la ville romaine, situé au bord du lac.
en savoir plus

La gestion de l'eau

Dans toutes les civilisations, l'approvisionnement en eau est indispensable à la vie. La demande, au sein d'une cité, est très importante. Thermes, fontaines, locaux artisanaux et logements privés sont autant de lieux à alimenter.
en savoir plus

Le forum- L'aire sacrée

Le statut de la Colonia Iulia Equestris lui imposait de disposer d'installations conformes aux standards de la métropole romaine, afin d'assurer la gestion administrative, politique, judiciaire, économique et religieuse de la ville et de son territoire.
en savoir plus

Le marché

L'actuelle Place du Marché a livré les vestiges d'un marché alimentaire construit vers 50 apr. J.-C.
en savoir plus

Les bains publics

Les bains publics (ou thermes), très proches du forum, datent vraisemblablement du début de notre ère.
en savoir plus

Habitations

Autour du forum se déployait un important réseau d'habitations privées, que des fouilles effectuées à la Place Bel-Air (1978-1982), à la Rue de la Gare et à la Rue du Collège (1992-1994) ont partiellement mis au jour.
en savoir plus